ARCHTHEO '14 Accepted Papers Until September 30

  • Melissa Di Giovanni. The borderline between Engineering and Architectural representation in the XIX century. A critical approach to the Theory of architectural drawing
  • Sanaz Hosseinabadi. Architecture from Derridean’s Semiotic to Deconstructivism
  • Maciej Stasiowski. Adrift Just Off Manhattan Transcripts and Towards Stranded Sears Tower. Smoothing the buildings’ polygons and searching for the blank space with contemporary cinematography

Registration Form

Dear Colleagues, Registration form for ARCHTHEO '14 has been published on

Keynote Speaker Jane Rendell

Jane Rendell is a writer, art critic and architectural historian/theorist/designer, whose work explores interdisciplinary intersections between architecture, art, feminism and psychoanalysis. Her authored books include Site-Writing (2010), Art and Architecture (2006), and The Pursuit of Pleasure (2002) and she is currently working on a new book on transitional spaces in architecture and psychoanalysis. She is co-editor of Pattern (2007), Critical Architecture (2007), Spatial Imagination (2005), The Unknown City (2001), Intersections (2000), Gender, Space, Architecture (1999) and Strangely Familiar (1995) and is Professor of Architecture and Art, and Vice Dean of Research at the Bartlett, UCL.

She is on the Editorial Board for Ultime Thule: Journal of Architectural Imagination, Architectural Theory Review, ARQ (Architectural Research Quarterly), Haecceity, The Happy Hypocrite, The Issues and the Journal of Visual Culture in Britain. She was a member of the AHRC Peer Review College (2004–2008) and chair of the RIBA President’s Awards for Research (2005–2007). In 2006 she was a research fellow at CRASSH (Centre for Research in Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities) at the University of Cambridge and received an honorary degree from the University College of the Creative Arts. In 2008 she was awarded Research Leave from the AHRC to complete her site-writing book, which received a commendation in the 2011 RIBA President’s Awards for Outstanding University-located Research.